badgerspoon13
    Twitter
    badgerspoon

Default Gargoyles Frak Party

Tuesday, 18 October 2011
    8 PM Eastern - 5 PM Pacific
    (Calculate Time Zone)

Watch on YouTube
    Last edited by BadgerSpoon; October 11th, 2011 at 08:49 PM. Reason: Updated YouTube link to begin at episode 3-11-1

Twitter
    Jonolobster

Default Gargoyles: Gateway Drug For Young Geek

Whenever I hear someone describe a television show they watched during childhood as having had a major influence on who they became as an adult, I usually share my love of Gargoyles with them.

When Gargoyles premiered on the Disney Afternoon on October 24th, 1994, just a few days before my 11th birthday, I had no idea the impact it would have on the course of my life. I just showed up for the action, adventure, and the promise of some pretty cool toys. Today, however, I recognize the effect the show truly had on me. Because of Gargoyles, I'm a history teacher, a sci-fi/fantasy geek, and someone who read Shakespeare's "MacBeth" because they wanted to, not because they were forced to in English class. Gargoyles literally opened up a world of possibilities for me and avenues of interest I may never have discovered otherwise.

For me, Gargoyles was a gateway drug that led to a whole host of future addictions.

Twitter
    klucasm

Quote Originally Posted by Jonolobster View Post
    For me, Gargoyles was a gateway drug that led to a whole host of future addictions.
    For me, Gargoyles was a show that I knew I was not supposed to like and felt embarrassed, maybe even ashamed, that I loved. I was 10, and even 10 year old girls who fight with their sister about whether to watch the Disney channel or TNG reruns when they get home from school, know that Gargoyles is beyond the pale.